The Commonwealth of Virginia [1] is a state in the South of the United States of America.

The state was one of the original thirteen British colonies and is the twelfth most populated state in the USA.

Native American tribes from Virginia, such as the Powhatan, had some of the richest native cultures in the Colonies.

It is known as the "Mother of States" as its original territory included West Virginia, Kentucky, Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, and Tennessee.

It is also known as the "Mother of Presidents," as eight U. presidents were born in the state: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, William Harrison, John Tyler, Zachary Taylor, and Woodrow Wilson.

Bordered on the east by the Atlantic Ocean, and the west by the Appalachian mountains, with expanses of farmland in between, Virginia has much to offer history buffs and lovers of scenic landscapes.

Virginia's three largest cities are Virginia Beach, Norfolk, and Chesapeake.

What makes Virginia particularly suited for amour remains something of a mystery, but the state does have many great features: beaches, forests, some of the oldest towns in North America, and proximity to the Mid-Atlantic and the deeper South.

Virginia is one of the thirteen original colonies, and one of the first states to ratify the Declaration of Independence.

Most people can deliberately speak in non-accented English upon request but find it difficult to do so for extended length of time.

As with all places, locals may have nonstandard words to refer to places, actions and people.

Virginia seceded from the Union in 1861 and has a strong Civil War heritage, as well as a strong sense of Southern pride and feeling of independence that exists in much of the state (especially the capital Richmond) even today.